Webinar | April 9, 2014

Using Mixed-Mode Selectivity to Address Purification Challenges

Source: Bio-Rad Laboratories, Inc.

DATE: April 16, 2014
TIME: 11:00 AM PST / 2:00 PM EST / 8:00 PM CET
SPEAKER: Xuemei He, PhD

Senior Staff Scientist, Process Chromatography Applications

Bio-Rad Laboratories

As the structures of novel biotherapeutics become more diverse, new purification schemes are emerging to effectively address purification challenges. Mixed-mode chromatography media with their unique selectivity are emerging as powerful tools for the removal of product related impurities. In this talk we discuss ligand-protein interactions and present several applications of mixed-mode chromatography, with a special focus on orthogonal approaches used to effectively remove closely related species while reducing feed manipulation and buffer consumption. Lastly, we will present proven approaches to accelerate method development by fine-tuning selectivity with minimal experimentation. The talk will highlight several cases spanning a range of proteins.

Learning objectives:

• Understanding mixed-mode chromatography basics and how to modulate

ligand/protein interactions

• Developing methods with the least amount of experimentation

• Address difficult purification challenges using new selectivity